Home Fleche-texte-grisRepertory Fleche-texte-gris architecteassoc. Fleche-texte-gris BELMONT COURT
Projet

BELMONT COURT

Architecte

architecteassoc.

Programe
Heavy refurbishment and rooftop extension of the Ministry of Employment building rue Belliard in Brussels.
About
The ambition to develop the potential of the MET’s city block in its existing form thereby proposing a sustainable solution within the built city center drove the team to consider rehabilitation, instead of demolition + new-build.

Certainly this option avoids the production of an impressive quantity of non-recyclable waste matter, but the choice also generates a series of defying challenges: how to create inspiring workspaces in what initially feels like a very dull carcass? … how to establish spatial markers inside the existing labyrinth … how to bring character to what starts out as uninspiring space?

The first step is to ban all cars from the central courtyard, transforming it into an urban garden. The second is to recuperate the street-side porch and create a new, permeable link between the noisy, car-ridden boulevard and the surprisingly tranquil and leafy inner oasis.

Space is redefined through the use of light and color, imagined with the artist J. Glibert. The seemingly random apparition of colored glass (in fact carefully positioned following the interior layout) brings a playful note to the rigid grid of the existing façade … what goes on inside becomes the clincher when seen from the outside, making redundant any other formal intervention …

The MET has clearly benefited from the open-mindedness of its client. The result is a sensitive collective response highlighting otherwise forgotten qualities of Brussels’ existing building stock.
[...]
Typology
Offices (include mixed use)
Status
Built
Year of conception
2002
Year of delivery
2006
Client
Axa Belgium sa
Total budget
30 000 000
Per square meters
814
Area
32 000 HS & 9 700 SS
Stability
Setesco
Special techniques
VK Engineering
Artists
Jean Glibert
Others
Herpain Entreprises

rue Belliard 49-51/rue Marie de Bourgogne 55/rue Montoyer et rue d’Arlon
1040 Bruxelles (Etterbeek)

Plus d'informations
architectesassoc.

Partager

Repertory

Projets

Accueil Fleche-texte-grisRépertoire Fleche-texte-gris architecteassoc. Fleche-texte-gris BELMONT COURT
Projet

BELMONT COURT

Architecte

architecteassoc.

Programme
Rénovation lourde et extension du bâtiment en toiture du Ministère de l'Emploi rue Belliard à Bruxelles.
À propos
L'ambition de développer le potentiel de l’îlot urbain du METdans sa volumétrie actuelle, proposant ainsi une solution durable dans le centre-ville existant conduit l'équipe à envisager la réhabilitation, au lieu de démolition + reconstruction.

Certes, cette option permet d'éviter la production d'une quantité impressionnante de déchets non-recyclables, mais le choix génère également des défis de taille: comment créer des espaces de travail inspirants dans une carcasse initialement bien terne? ... comment établir des marqueurs spatiaux dans le labyrinthe de départ ... comment apporter du caractère à l'espace au départ sans âme?

La première étape consiste à bannir toute voiture de la cour centrale, la transformant en un jardin urbain. La seconde consiste à récupérer le porche côté rue pour créer une nouvelle liaison perméable entre la voirie asphyxiée et l'oasis intérieure étonnamment calme et verdoyant.

L'espace est redéfini par l'utilisation de la lumière et la couleur, modelé avec l'artiste J. Glibert. L'apparition apparemment aléatoire de vitrages colorés (en fait la résultante de l’organisation intérieure) apporte une note ludique à la façade existante ... ce qui se passe à l'intérieur devient source de l’animation extérieure rendant superflue toute autre intervention formelle ...

Le MET a clairement bénéficié de l'ouverture de son client. Le résultat est une réponse collective sensible mettant en évidence la richesse cachée du bâti existant bruxellois.
[...]
Typologie
Bureaux
Statut
Construit
Année de conception
2002
Année de livraison
2006
Maître d'ouvrage
Axa Belgium sa
Budget total
30 000 000
Budget au m2
814
Superficie
32 000 HS & 9 700 SS
Stabilité
Setesco
Techniques spéciales
VK Engineering
Artistes
Jean Glibert
Autre
Herpain Entreprises

rue Belliard 49-51/rue Marie de Bourgogne 55/rue Montoyer et rue d’Arlon
1040 Bruxelles (Etterbeek)

Plus d'informations
architectesassoc.

Partager

Répertoire

Projets