Home Fleche-texte-grisPosts Fleche-texte-gris Combining process and procedure
Posts
Publication date
09/10/18

Author(s)
Audrey Contesse
Share

Combining process and procedure

Combining process and procedure
Combining process and procedure

"The Belgian scene boasts a form of quality, humanism and poetry”, states issue no. 425 of Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, focusing on Belgian architecture. It must be said that over the last fifteen years, a spatial quality has sprung from architecture originating from Wallonia-Brussels in particular. This stems from an alliance between a specific architectural approach based on process and construction proficiency, and a pro-active architectural policy.

For the last thirty years, this project approach has been developed thanks to housing construction orders. This is of course the most widespread kind of order, as any self-respecting Belgian wants to build their own house - and to do so an architect is legally required, even if it only for a simple extension. Thip approach is thus user-centred and founded on the idea that we can “make do with”. We can make do with the current context, often synonym of low budgets, and of course make do with the future user. Talking about and analysing the order, questioning it, defining and refining it, and finally designing it based on proficient knowledge learnt in the finest Belgian Universities. Through all this it stays in the hands of the architect until final delivery. These support measures, regarding both the order and its commissioner and learnt through practice, served architects at the time when competitive calls were made mandatory by European bodies in 1993 for the completion of public works. A new kind of order thus appeared, surrounded by stuttering procedures. They felt (and sometimes still feel) more like the formulation of a question coupled with a (generally low) budget than a “standardised” competition, as established in Switzerland or France. Yet that lack of clarity is precisely where an architect’s ingenuity can insinuate itself. In supporting the creation of the order, the architect takes a handle on the project and only lets it go right at the very end. This approach, shared by several firms, means that contemporary architecture in Belgium is not a question of “style” or the result of “star architects”, but rather a precise, committed and single response to each order.

The downside is however palpable and cripples often small Belgian architectural firms. This upstream work is sometimes just too much, and is rarely recognised financially. “Making do with” thus becomes “making do despite” - which also results from a change in the construction context over the last fifteen years. “Doing” this form of architecture that stands strong and is proof of high quality “despite” low budgets, dealing with lots of standardised constraints, the lack of recognition for the architectural trade, the growing number of legal suits, etc.

Yet this approach and its result were soon valued and supported. This “architectural and spatial quality” has become a leitmotiv and even a fight for the last twenty-five years for certain people in the world of Belgian architecture. They made the most of competitive calls to introduce it. Heard by politicians, public bodies were born to help with public or private project ownership, required to formalise architecture service contracts. Each region and each community created its own structures: Vlaams Bouwmeester in Flanders (1999), Cellule Architecture in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (2007), Bouwmeester-Maître Architecte in Brussels- Capital (2009). Some cities even wanted to establish this type of structure at their own small level, such as Antwerp (1999), Charleroi (2013) and Ghent (2017). These structures offer procedures founded mostly on quality criteria - such as habitability, urbanism, technical approach, etc. - placing the budget criterion in last position. They also banished anonymous competitions, to encourage competitive procedures with negotiations. Commissioners are now able to choose a project and project team.

Similarly, procedures for activating urban renovation - based on dialogue - are slowly emerging. They rely on this architectural approach that also meets current challenges aiming to reuse what already exists (structures, materials, etc.) - inherent to real estate in Belgian towns, where renovation is widely favoured and the “palimpsest” logic is key. The procedure for Sustainable district contracts thus appeared in 1994. These Contracts link the region of Brussels-Capital to its 19 surrounding communes, to fight the rise in unstable neighbourhoods and long administrative lead times regarding construction. A form of “acupuncture urbanism” was thus born, and among hundreds of others, the project acclaimed by the Emerging Architectural Prize Mies van der Rohe for 2017: the Navez Portaels social housing by the MSA and V+ firms.

This prize - as stated by Anna Ramos, Director of the Foundation - rewards “a heroic and ordinary approach”. An approach which all the projects presented in this exhibition Import WB _Export BCN. Re-activate the city can boast.


Par Audrey Contesse, architect, curator, critic and journalist.

Repertory

Accueil Fleche-texte-grisBillets Fleche-texte-gris Allier procédure et processus
Billets
Date de publication
09/10/18

Auteur(s)
Audrey Contesse
Partager

Allier procédure et processus

Allier procédure et processus
Allier procédure et processus

"La scène belge est gage de qualité, d’humanisme et de poésie" peut-on lire dans le numéro 425 de l’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, dévolu à l’architecture belge. Il est vrai que depuis une dizaine d’années, une qualité spatiale émane particulièrement de l’architecture en Wallonie-Bruxelles. Elle est le fruit d’une alliance entre une démarche architecturale spécifique, axée sur le processus et la maîtrise de la construction, et une politique architecturale volontariste.

Cette démarche de projet s’est développée depuis une trentaine d’années autour de la commande de la maison. Commande la plus répandue, puisque tout belge qui se respecte, veut construire sa maison, et qu’un architecte est légalement requis même pour l’érection d’une simple extension. Une démarche centrée sur l’utilisateur et fondée sur le ‘faire avec’. Faire avec le contexte existant, avec un budget souvent maigre et surtout, avec le futur utilisateur. Discuter, analyser la commande, la remettre en question, la définir, l’affiner, la concevoir, puis la réaliser avec une maîtrise de la mise en œuvre enseignée dans les universités belges, qui reste entre les mains de l’architecte jusqu’à la livraison de la construction. Cet accompagnement, à la fois de la commande et de son commanditaire, appris grâce à la petite échelle, a servi les architectes au moment de la mise en concurrence de la réalisation des ouvrages publics, rendue obligatoire en 1993 par les instances européennes. Une nouvelle commande s’ouvre alors, encadrée par des procédures balbutiantes. Elles ressemblent plus (et c’est encore le cas actuellement pour certaines d’entre elles) à la formulation d’une question assortie d’un budget (bas en général) qu’à celles d’un concours ‘normé’ tel que conçu en Suisse ou en France. Or, c’est bien là, dans cette absence de clarté de la commande que s’immisce l’ingéniosité des architectes. C’est dans ce travail d’accompagnement de la commande que l’architecte prend possession du projet jusqu’à sa mise en œuvre. Cette démarche, partagée par plusieurs bureaux, engendre que l’architecture contemporaine en Belgique ne soit pas une question de ‘style’ ou le fruit de ‘stars architectes’, mais qu’elle soit une réponse précise, engagée et propre à chaque commande.

Le revers est cependant palpable et met à mal les bureaux d’architecture belges souvent de petites tailles. Ce travail en amont devient parfois trop important et n’est que rarement reconnu financièrement. Le ‘faire avec’ se transforme alors en ‘faire malgré’, également du fait de l’évolution du contexte de la construction ces quinze dernières années. ‘Faire’ cette architecture qui prend position et qui est gage de qualité ‘malgré’ le peu de budget, le trop de contraintes normatives, le manque de reconnaissance du statut d’architecte, la démultiplication des recours juridiques, etc.

Et pourtant, cette démarche et son résultat ont très vite été soutenus et valorisés. Cette ‘qualité architecturale et spatiale’ est devenue, un leitmotiv, et même un combat, depuis vingt-cinq ans, pour certaines personnalités du monde architectural belge. Elles ont profité de la mise en concurrence pour l’y introduire. Entendues par le politique, des structures publiques ont pu voir le jour pour assister la maîtrise d’ouvrage publique ou privée devant procéder à des marchés de service d’architecture. Chaque région et chaque communauté se dotent de leur structure : le Vlaams Bouwmeester en Flandre (1999), la Cellule architecture en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (2007), le Bouwmeester-Maître Architecte à Bruxelles-Capitale (2009). Certaines villes ont même souhaité établir ce type de structures à leur niveau, comme Anvers (1999), Charleroi (2013) et Gand (2017). Ces structures proposent des procédures fondées principalement sur des critères de qualité – tels que l’habitabilité, l’urbanité, l’approche technique, etc. –, plaçant le critère budgétaire en dernière position. Elles bannissent également les concours anonymes pour favoriser les procédures concurrentielles avec négociation. Le commanditaire a ainsi l’opportunité de choisir un projet et une équipe de projet.

De la même façon, des procédures pour activer la rénovation urbaine, basées sur la concertation, émergent. Elles misent sur cette démarche architecturale qui répond également aux défis actuels du réemploi de l’existant (structures, matériaux, etc.) inhérent au parc immobilier des villes belges où la rénovation est largement majoritaire et la logique du palimpseste incontournable. La procédure des Contrats de quartier durable apparaît ainsi dès 1994. Ces Contrats lient la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale à ses 19 communes pour lutter contre la multiplication des quartiers précaires et les délais administratifs trop longs de la construction. Un urbanisme d’acuponcture dont découle, parmi des centaines d’autres, le projet salué par le prix de l’architecte émergent Mies van der Rohe 2017 : les logements sociaux Navez Portaels des bureaux MSA et V+.

Ce prix, souligne Anna Ramos, Directrice de la Fondation, récompense «une démarche héroïque et ordinaire». Une démarche dont peut se targuer l’ensemble des projets présentés dans cette exposition Import WB _Export BCN. Re-activate the city.


Par Audrey Contesse, architecte, commissaire d'exposition, critique et journaliste.


Répertoire