Home Fleche-texte-grisPublications Fleche-texte-gris Objets immanents
Publications
Language: FR
Pages: 184


Under the supervision of
Laura Bouyard, Ophélie Dozat, Marie Gobin et Cédric Libert

Publisher
BlackWhiteRainbowProductions

Author(s)
Nicolas Dorval-Bory, Cédric Libert, Flavien Menu et Philippe Potié

Graphic design
Studio Otamendi

Public price
25 €

Belgium distribution
mail@blackwhiterainbow.eu
European distribution
mail@blackwhiterainbow.eu
Share

Objets immanents

Objets immanents is a speculative project, that ran from 2014 until 2016, under the supervision of Cédric Libert.

Starting from three found objects – or remains of the vagaries of history – this research examined the landscape in the architectural sense of the term. The study was based on two scales: that of the territory on the one hand, which consists of towns, villages and hamlets, fields, forests and lakes and the architectural scale on the other hand, in a direct relationship with the inhabited form and the outlines of space.

The projects in this publication examine three types of conditions of habitability in large-scale infrastructure: firstly, an intermediary landscape, that is neither a city nor a rural hamlet, a substitute for modernity, producing the large flat, non-hierarchical landscape that so is typical of the early twenty-first century; secondly, an urban landscape, a slag heap of history comprising several layers, as found in many European cities as they developed over time; and finally, a rural landscape whose recent construction (almost) echoes the work of seventeenth-century painters.

The viaduct of the hover train to the north of Orléans, Tempelhof Airport in Berlin and the Vassivière dam in the Limousin: these three structures, in their guise of fake monuments that commemorate an (in)complete epic, serve as a reference for developing an approach that encompasses the notions of macro-territory and micro-buildings, and their reciprocal relationship. On a less apparent level, these projects mainly take a critical approach to a more general question, namely how man modifies his own surroundings: Man on Earth.

Repertory

Accueil Fleche-texte-grisPublications Fleche-texte-gris Objets immanents
Publications
Langue : FR
Pages : 184


Sous la direction de
Laura Bouyard, Ophélie Dozat, Marie Gobin et Cédric Libert

Éditeur
BlackWhiteRainbowProductions

Auteur(s)
Nicolas Dorval-Bory, Cédric Libert, Flavien Menu et Philippe Potié

Graphisme
Studio Otamendi

Prix public
25 €

Diffusion Belgique
mail@blackwhiterainbow.eu
Diffusion Europe
mail@blackwhiterainbow.eu
Partager

Objets immanents

Objets immanents est un projet spéculatif développé entre 2014 et 2016 sous la direction de Cédric Libert.

Au départ de trois objets trouvés – héritage des aléas de l’histoire –, la recherche explore la question du paysage, au sens architecturé du terme. Pour mener cette réflexion, deux échelles ont été convoquées : celle du territoire d’une part, constitué de villes, de hameaux et de bourgades, de champs, de forêts et de lacs ; celle de l’architecture d’autre part, engagée dans un rapport direct avec la forme habitée et les contours de l’espace.

Les projets présentés dans cet ouvrage interrogent, par l’infrastructure à grande échelle, trois formes de conditions habitables : d’abord, un paysage intermédiaire, ni ville ni campagne, ersatz d’une modernité qui produit le grand territoire plat et non hiérarchique typique de ce début de XXI e siècle ; ensuite, un paysage urbain, empilement de strates historiques qui ont composé les villes européennes à travers le temps ; enfin, un paysage bucolique dont la construction récente se pose (presque) en écho au travail pictural des peintres du XVII e siècle.

Le viaduc de l’aérotrain au nord d’Orléans, l’aéroport de Tempelhof à Berlin et le barrage de Vassivière dans le Limousin : ces trois infrastructures, dans leur allure de faux monuments à la mémoire d’une épopée (in)aboutie, constituent un instrument-étalon qui permet d’articuler une démarche englobant des notions de macro-territoire et de micro-édifices, envisagés dans leurs relations réciproques. En arrière-plan, les projets engagent surtout une démarche critique vis-à-vis d’une question globale, qui concerne la modification par l’homme de son propre environnement : Man on Earth.

Répertoire