Home Fleche-texte-grisActions Fleche-texte-gris Launch of the European residence for architects/Comics - Nantes & Walcourt
Actions
Publication date
10/05/19
Share

Launch of the European residence for architects/Comics - Nantes & Walcourt

Launch of the European residence for architects/Comics - Nantes & Walcourt
Launch of the European residence for architects/Comics - Nantes & Walcourt

ARCHITECTS’ RESIDENCY INITIATIVE

The architects’ residency is a cultural project which creates the conditions for an encounter between an architect, accompanied by one or several other professionals, and communities, elected officials, residents, and local stakeholders within a given region and context. A chosen architect and their partner are hosted for six weeks in a region in which they are completely immersed. They live and work there. The architects’ residency aims to contribute to introducing local residents and stakeholders to contemporary issues linked to the identity of cities and regions. It should also facilitate a debate around architectural production, uses and ways of life, as well as the connection between habitat and local environment, whether this is urban, natural, or farmland. With the backing of the Maison de l’Architecture, which has enlisted its own network in support of the project, recipients of the residency will involve local communities, elected officials, stakeholders and, more generally, the local population. The aim of the project is to create connections, or synergies. Throughout the residency, the architect and their partner are invited to make visible what is already there, to reveal potentials and opportunities. This is not about designing a project, but starting a conversation, telling a story, and sharing it with those who live in the host region.

CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTURE IN THE SUBURBS, IN SAINT-JEAN-DE-BOISEAU (FR) & WALCOURT (BE)

The European architects’ and comic book authors’ residency is structured around a collaboration between two countries, two towns and two resident teams - one French and one francophone Belgian - who share different cultures and approaches to town planning. The residency explores questions around the everyday experience of architecture in the 21st century. It provides the opportunity to work together on how we represent and tell visual stories about the contemporary built environment through the medium of comics. Recipients of the residency will explore the region, its uses and features (real and imagined), environmental challenges, contemporary architecture, the relationship between town and country, and the phenomenon of ‘metropolisation’.

Participants will be hosted in Walcourt, a Belgian town of 18,000 inhabitants, located in Wallonia in the Namur Province, right by Charleroi, and in the process of ‘metropolisation’. The town centre is characterised by medieval heritage buildings. Not far from the station, at the meeting between the two rivers and in a liminal space between the historic high town and the formerly industrial low town, a new neighbourhood is being developed. This represents both an opportunity and a challenge for the town. In Saint-Jean-de-Boiseau, which is one of the 24 local authorities which make up the city of Nantes, urban regeneration has taken the form, over the years, of an extension of the built environment into rural areas. However, the contemporary architectural designs recently initiated by the municipal team on certain flagship projects define a new living environment which seeks to reveal a shared landscape identity. They will be completely immersed, living and working locally.

ANNE LEDROIT - ERIC VALETTE - VRIGINIE PIEGEON MAKE UP THE BELGIAN TEAM

They will offer a delicate, collaborative reading, attentive to built and non-built elements, the dissemination of identities, the use of spaces, desires and imagined possibilities... The river, a powerful and universal experience, will serve as their backdrop. The river represents ‘elsewhere’, it evokes dreams, journeys, and danger too. The waterway is a connection which unites the two villages chosen for this programme. Walcourt, in Belgium, is at the confluence of two rivers. Over time, the team will use walks, maps and drawings to produce an idea of the place and highlight its most sensitive elements.

ETIENNE DUVAL & JEAN CHAUVELOT ARE THE FRENCH TEAM

They met in Metz in 2012 and immediately connected over a quick collaboration on a number of small audio-visual projects. They were eager to work together on a larger-scale project. Etienne is an architect. He lives and works in Luxembourg. He founded the YO Studio in 2018. With an equal interest in architecture and communication, his main point of focus is interaction with other people - or between people. Jean is a comic book author. Born in Donjeux in Haute-Marne, he lives and works in Paris. Despite the monastic nature of his profession, he is a highly social animal, and shares Etienne’s obsession with people. In these reclusive vocations, there are few opportunities to connect with people. That is why they are overjoyed to meet people in their homes - to meet them and tell their stories.

RESIDENCY SCHEDULE

SAINT-JEAN-DE-BOISEAU

12 to 18 May

24 June to 6 July

2 to 22 September

WALCOURT

24 June to 14 July

COMMUNIQUEetn769;-REetn769;SIDENCE_QUAND_LA_BD_RENCONTRE_L_ARCHI.pdf

Repertory

Accueil Fleche-texte-grisActions Fleche-texte-gris Lancement de la résidence européenne d'architectes/BD - Nantes & Walcourt
Actions
Date de publication
10/05/19

Date
14/05/19
Partager

Lancement de la résidence européenne d'architectes/BD - Nantes & Walcourt

DISPOSITIF DE RÉSIDENCE D'ARCHITECTES
 
La résidence d'architectes est un projet culturel créant les conditions d'une rencontre entre un architecte accompagné d'un ou plusieurs autres professionnels, et des populations, des élus, habitants, acteurs locaux, sur un territoire et dans un contexte donnés. Un architecte mandataire et son binôme sont accueillis pendant six semaines dans un territoire où ils sont en immersion. Ils habitent et travaillent sur place. La résidence d'architectes a pour vocation de contribuer à ouvrir le regard des habitants et des acteurs locaux sur les problématiques contemporaines liées à l'identité des villes et des territoires. Elle doit également susciter le débat sur la production architecturale, les usages et les modes de vie ainsi que sur les liens entre l'habitat et l'environnement local, qu'il soit urbain, naturel ou agricole. Avec l'appui de la Maison de l'architecture qui mobilise son propre réseau autour du projet, les résidents associent à la démarche, les populations, les élus, les acteurs locaux et plus largement l'ensemble des habitants. Il s'agit de créer des liens, des synergies. Durant leur temps de résidence, l'architecte et son binôme sont invités à rendre visible ce qui est là, à révéler des potentiels, des opportunités. Il ne s'agit pas de concevoir un projet, mais plutôt de produire une pensée, un récit, et de les partager avec ceux qui vivent dans le territoire d'accueil.
 
ARCHITECTURE CONTEMPORAINE EN MILIEU PÉRIURBAIN À SAINT-JEAN-DE-BOISEAU (FR) & WALCOURT (BE)
 
La résidence européenne d'architectes et d'auteur de bandes dessinées se structure autour d'une collaboration entre deux pays, deux communes et deux équipes résidentes - une Française et une Belge francophone - partageant une culture et des approches d'aménagement du territoire différenciées. La résidence propose d'aborder la question de l'architecture du XXIe siècle vécue au quotidien. Elle fait l'objet d'un travail commun sur la représentation et la mise en récit visuel de l'espace bâti contemporain au travers du média bande dessinée. Les résidents questionneront le territoire, ses usages, ses figures fantasmées, ou non, les enjeux environnementaux, l'architecture contemporaine, la relation ville/campagne et le phénomène de métropolisation.
 
Les résidents seront accueillis à Walcourt, ville belge de 18 000 habitants située en région wallonne dans la Province de Namur, à proximité directe de Charleroi en voie de «métropolisation». Le centre urbain se caractérise par un patrimoine bâti médiéval. Non loin de la gare, à la confluence des deux rivières et dans un endroit charnière entre la ville haute historique et la ville basse au passé industriel, se développe un nouveau quartier, constituant un enjeu important pour la commune. Et à Saint-Jean-de-Boiseau, qui fait partie des 24 communes de la métropole Nantaise. Le renouvellement urbain a été assuré au fil des années par une extension sur l'espace agricole. Cependant, l'architecture contemporaine initiée récemment par l'équipe municipale sur quelques opérations référentes, définit un cadre de vie renouvelé qui cherche à révéler l'identité paysagère communale. Ils seront en immersion, en habitant et travaillant sur place.
 
ANNE LEDROIT - ERIC VALETTE - VRIGINIE PIEGEON FORMENT L'ÉQUIPE BELGE
 
Ils en proposeront une lecture délicate, co-construite, attentive aux formes bâties et non-bâties, aux identités véhiculées, aux modalités d'appropriations, aux envies et aux imaginaires... En toile de fond, ils valoriseront le fleuve, expérience forte et universelle. Le fleuve comme un ailleurs, porteur de fantasme, d'idée de voyage, de danger aussi. Le cours d'eau comme un lien qui unit les deux villages retenus pour ce programme. Walcourt, en Belgique, étant situé à la confluence de deux rivières. Au fil du temps, l'équipe utilisera la marche, les cartes et le dessin pour produire une idée du lieu et mettre en valeur ses composants les plus sensibles.
 
ETIENNE DUVAL & JEAN CHAUVELOT FORMENT L'ÉQUIPE FRANÇAISE
 
Ils se rencontrent à Metz en 2012 et s'apprivoisent instantanément, alors qu'ils collaborent rapidement sur de petits projets audiovisuels, l'envie de travailler ensemble sur un projet plus important se fait sentir. Etienne est architecte, il vit et travaille à Luxembourg. Il y fonde le YO studio en 2018. Autant intéressé par l'architecture que la communication, il met au centre des ses préoccupations l'interaction avec les autres humains - ou des humains entre eux. Jean est auteur de bandes-dessinées, né à Donjeux en Haute-Marne, il vit et travaille à Paris. Malgré la réalité terriblement monacale de sa profession, il s'avère être un animal extrêmement social, et partage l'obsession d'Etienne pour les gens. Dans ces métiers d'ermites, les occasions d'aller au devant des autres humains se font rares, c'est pourquoi l'idée d'aller en rencontrer à domicile les met en joie; les rencontrer et les raconter.
 
CALENDRIER DE RESIDENCE
 
SAINT JEAN DE BOISEAU
12 au 18 Mai
24 Juin au 06 Juillet
02 au 22 Septembre
 
WALCOURT
24 Juin au 14 Juillet
 
 

COMMUNIQUEetn769;-REetn769;SIDENCE_QUAND_LA_BD_RENCONTRE_L_ARCHI.pdf

Répertoire